Special trains

Special trains

XPT sets have been used for special services over the years, on extra revenue services, charters and tour trains.

15th October 1982: Sydney - Muswellbrook - Ulan - Sydney. Official opening of the Muswellbrook - Ulan line.

5th August 1982: Sydney - Wollongong - Unanderra - Moss Vale. ? tour.

8th April 1984: Sydney - Mudgee - Sydney. SRA tour.

14th October 1984: Hurstville Great Train Festival. An XPT "raced" steam locomotive 3642 from Central to Hurstville.

1987: Hurstville Great Train Festival. XPT to Cronulla.

24th January 1988: Last train to Corowa. it used the Riverina XPT set which was normally stabled at Albury on Sundays. There were connecting special trains from Sydney and Melbourne. The XPT ran from Albury to Culcairn, then to Corowa. Victorian passengers crossed the Murray River and rejoined their special train at Wahgunyah.

Northern Lines Easter and Autumn School Holidays 1989

Additional Easter and school holiday services ran to Grafton City and Armidale in 1989 utilising sets that would normally have been stabled overnight at these locations.

                NT11    NT41
                We 22/3 We 22/3
                Th 23/3 Mo 27/3
                Fr 31/3

Sydney          21:15   22:45
Strathfield     21:26u  22:56u
Hornsby         21:48u  23:18u
Gosford         22:30u  00:00u
Broadmeadow     23:23   00:53
Maitland        23:45   01:15
Dungog          00:28
Gloucester      01:32
Wingham         02:21
Taree           02:32
Coopernook      03:00a
Kendall         03:24
Wauchope        03:44
Kempsey         04:22
Eungai          04:47a
Macksville      05:01
Nambucca Hds    05:15
Urunga          05:29a
Raleigh         05:35a
Sawtell         05:46a
Coffs Harbour   06:03
Coramba         06:22a
Glenreagh       06:42a
Grafton City    07:15
Singleton               01:46
Muswellbrook            02:21
Aberdeen                02:31
Scone                   02:42
Murrurundi              03:07
Willow Tree             03:30
Quirindi                03:42
Werris Ck               03:58
Tamworth                04:31
Kootingal               04:47
Walcha Rd               05:36
Uralla                  06:06
Armidale                06:30

                NT42    NT14
                We 22/3 We 22/3
                Mo 27/3 Th 23/3
                        Fr 31/3

Armidale        21:30
Uralla          21:48
Walcha Rd       22:19
Kootingal       23:03
Tamworth        23:20
Werris Ck       23:52
Quirindi        00:08
Willow Tree     00:19
Murrurundi      00:43
Scone           01:05
Aberdeen        01:15
Muswellbrook    01:25
Singleton       01:58
Grafton City            20:00
Glenreagh               20:32a
Coramba                 20:52a
Coffs Harbour           21:09
Sawtell                 21:16a
Raleigh                 21:30a
Urunga                  21:35a
Nambucca Hds            21:49
Macksville              22:01
Eungai                  22:17a
Kempsey                 22:41
Wauchope                23:19
Kendall                 23:40
Coopernook              00:03a
Taree                   00:24
Wingham                 00:47
Gloucester              01:50
Dungog                  02:44
Maitland        02:44   03:30
Broadmeadow     02:46   03:53
Gosford         03:41d  04:47d
Hornsby         04:20d  05:27d
Strathfield     04:40d  05:49d
Sydney          04:55   06:03
XP2000 was painted into a special Olympic Games livery in September 1996. On 19th February 1997, Countrylink ran a special marketing train to Illawarra Junction and Hornsby using XP2000 and XP2012.

An unusual working. On 8/8/1997, XP2009, the leading power car of NT4 failed at Leeville, just south of Casino, with throttle handle braking problems. The rest of the train was driven back to Casino where the other power car was detached and turned at the Old Loco depot. NT4 then continued to Sydney with only one power car. XP2000 was repaired on site and departed for Meeks Road at 3am the following day.